CFDA Fashion Award 2014

posted in: Designer, Dresses, Events, Fashion, New York | 0

The CFDA (Council of Fashion Designers) holds an annual awards event that recognizes extraordinary design excellence in the following areas: womenswear, menswear, and accessories. It also recognizes accomplishments in journalism, creative vision, and lifetime achievement. The nominations for each category are submitted by the CFDA Fashion Awards Guild. It is an invitation only group that includes top fashion retailers, journalists, stylists, influencers, and the more than 450 member designers of the CFDA. The event is simply known as the CFDA Fashion Awards; it is also unofficially called the Oscars of Fashion.

Rihanna, the recipient of this year’s CFDA Fashion Icon Award, demonstrated quite clearly why she deserves being named CFDA Fashion Icon of 2014.  She shined bright like a diamond wearing a custom made dress leaving very little to the imagination.Rihanna3



The dress, designed by Adam Selman, was created using more than 230,000 Swarovski crystals and it was said that the finishing touches on the dress took at least eight people 15 hours to complete.  Rihanna was by far the undisputed fashion star of the moment wearing this unique Josephine Baker inspired look.  She suggested the head scarf to finish the look.

While Rihanna certainly stole the show; there were other style centric fashion insiders that slayed the red carpet at the award event. chanel-iman BlakeLively Lupita Nyong'o JHUD Rachel Roy Solange2 Solange1

As to the event itself, here is a list of the awards and who they were given to:

PrintWomenswear Designer of the Year: Joseph Altuzarra for Altuzarra

Menswear Designer of the Year: Maxwell Osborne & Dao-Yi Chow for Public School by James Marsden

Accessories Designer of the Year: Mary-Kate Olsen & Ashley Olsen for The Row

Fashion Icon: Rihanna

Swarovski Awards (Honoring and recognizing emerging talent)

Womenswear: Shane Gabier & Christopher Peters for Creatures of the Wind

Menswear: Tim Coppens

Accessory Design: Irene Neuwirth

The winners of the Swarovski Awards get generous financial support from the company and exposure to the company’s vast and innovative crystal products and applications for Fashion.

The final awards were:

Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award: Tom Ford for his consistent, creative influence on fashion

The Founder’s Award: Bethann Hardison for her efforts to promote racial diversity in the fashion industry

The Media Award: Paul Cavaco (For excellence in journalism)

International Award: Raf Simmons (Christian Dior)

Board of Directors’ Tribute: Ruth Finley, in recognition of her 65 years as founder and publisher of Fashion Calendar.